Sunday, December 4, 2022
HomeindiaMajor blow to Congress in Goa amid Rahul Gandhi's Bharat Jodo Yatra,...

Major blow to Congress in Goa amid Rahul Gandhi’s Bharat Jodo Yatra, its eight MLAs to join BJP today | India News

New Delhi: In a huge setback for Congress in Goa, eight of its MLAs will join the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today (September 14, 2022), state BJP chief Sadanand Shet Tanavade told news agency PTI. According to reports, the eight Congress MLAs who will join the saffron camp are Digambar Kamat, Michael Lobo, Delilah Lobo, Rajesh Phaldesai, Kedar Naik, Sankalp Amonkar, Aleixo Sequeira and Rudolf Fernandes. 

The eight Congress lawmakers also met Goa Chief Minister and BJP leader Pramod Sawant.

In the 40-member Goa Assembly, the Congress has 11 legislators, while the BJP has 20. 

Earlier in 2019, 10 Congress MLAs had also switched over to the saffron camp.

Setback for Congress comes amid its 150-day long ‘Bharat Jodo Yatra’  

The setback for the Grand Old Party comes amid its 150-day long “Bharat Jodo Yatra”, which is aimed at combating the alleged divide in the country and rejuvenating the party organisation. Congress’ former president Rahul Gandhi, along with several top leaders of the party, began the Yatra from Kanyakumari last week and after traversing through Tamil Nadu, it is now passing through Kerala.

The 3,570-kilometer-long foot march is scheduled to cover 12 states and two Union territories.

The Bharat Jodo Yatra, which entered Kerala on September 10 evening, will traverse through the state covering 450 kilometers, touching seven districts over a period of 19 days before entering Karnataka on October 1.

(With agency inputs)

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Most Popular